Thread: Dollies for canoes

Default Dollies for canoes

Anyone have an experience using a dolly for portaging a canoe for distances? I have a 17' Scanoe and a 2.2 Merc. on it and am hunting in the back of a bay. The bay is all gravel. The tide sometimes leaves me 100-150 yards from the water. Seems like a dolly with a set of mountain bike tires might be a good thing to use. At 57 I can still throw the thing up on my shoulders but with other gear being able to roll it along seems more practical.

Vietnam - June 70 - Feb. 72
    Cancer from Agent Orange - Aug. 25th 2012
    Cancer Survivor - Dec. 14th 2012

Dave, I have no experience with them but they sell some nice ones with "beach" tires that hould work well for what you are thinking.
    Google "portage cart" or some such.
    Vance in AK.

Matthew 6:33
    "But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you."

Default Found this one

I found this one. 300 pound capacity.

http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-InSTEP-CC100...QQcmdZViewItem

Dave,
    At Sportsman's Warehouse up stairs at the kayaks and canoes they had a kayak dolly.

I built one out of a old tricycle back axel for my kayaks.
    http://topkayaker.net/cgi-bin/TopYak...c;f=5;t=000077

Let me know what you think.

George

Here's a couple of links to some other choices. It seems to me that wider abd shorter tires would serve you better on beaches.
    By the way, LL Bean seems to have one exactly like the one you found on ebay, & it',s only $50.00 ... MORE!
    The 1st link is a specific cart I believe, but if I got the page with a selection, I was thinking the 11" (largest)
    The second page is a listing of some manafactures with catalogs.
    The one at Sportsmen's might be just as good, I haven't seen it, but that's about a 225-250 mile drive for you right?

http://www.boundarywaterscatalog.com...cfm/4,5514.htm

http://www.paddling.net/buyersguide/...07b9dfbfb1f263
    Vance in AK.

Matthew 6:33