Thread: Cutco fillet knife

Default Cutco fillet knife

Anyone use one? Looked at them when the local dealer (Josh?) was at the 5th ave mall last year.

Do you like yours or prefer something else? Looking to upgrade from my freebie Rapala that i've hacked away with for years.

Thanks.

We have two and I really like them. I'm no knife expert, but I go through 50-100 fish per year with mine and never carry a sharpener.

I'm with Brian, have had a few over the years (they DON'T float btw...) and they work very well. I thought the telescopic blade was kind of hokey at first but it is quite handy. The bright orange handle is pretty easy to see even in murky water.
    AKmud
    http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j96/AKmud/213700RMK1-1.jpg

The porcupine is a peacful animal yet God still thought it necessary to give him quills....

Got one earlier this spring and have been using it for reds all summer. Haven't sharpened it once, and it's still as sharp as the day I got it. I've noticed my fillets come out better with the sharper knife too. I highly recommend them. Plus the sheath has a hook sharpener attached to it.
    Some people call it sky busting... I call it optimism
    "Swans are a gift" -DucksandDogs
    I am a shoveler's worst nightmare!

Quote Originally Posted by duckslayer56 View Post
    Got one earlier this spring and have been using it for reds all summer. Haven't sharpened it once, and it's still as sharp as the day I got it. I've noticed my fillets come out better with the sharper knife too. I highly recommend them. Plus the sheath has a hook sharpener attached to it.
    Yah, the sheath was pretty neat.

Thanks for the recommendations. Going to pick an extra up for a buddy that comes up every summer.

Quote Originally Posted by duckslayer56 View Post
    I've noticed my fillets come out better with the sharper knife too.
    So your trying to say that you can make cleaner cuts with a sharp knife? SOB all these years.....