Thread: Sheep Hunting food.

Default Sheep Hunting food.

Starting to put together the food list for a buddies sheep hunt. Aside from mountain house and cliff bars, we thought of smoked salmon...as a good source of salt, protein, and calories...

Cons...possible scavenger attractant...

Thoughts on this idea?

Yeah, it does smell, but it's not a human smell, so it "shouldn't" increase your quarry's ability to sniff you out. Attracting bears would be the only thing I can think of as being a detriment. Make sure you keep it in a bear keg?? I have no experience with it, but seems like a good idea. -Gr
    My signature is awesome.

We bring a lot of vacuum packed salmon with us. No issues.

I like to take smoked salmon, game jerky, precooked bacon, peanut butter powder, bagels, tortillas, block cheese and home made trail mix. Oatmeal packets for breakfast and I just pour water straight into the packs to save on sticky mess in my cup. Spices for fresh meat.

"I refuse to let the things I can't do stop me from doing the things I can"
    Founding Member
    http://www.residenthuntersofalaska.org/

We sometimes take smoked salmon on our backpack hunts. We have never had problems with scavengers. I don't see why it would attract more than other food.

The biggest con i see is it is relatively heavy (depending on how dry) and does not usually meet the 100 calories per ounce criteria.

Sent from my ZTE-Z990G using Tapatalk 2

I take a lot of beef jerky to eat while hiking. Mountain house, oat meal, coffee, coco, tang for water, energy bars and that's pretty much it. Any ptarmigan I see will land on the grill (in season of course :-) I lose 5 lbs on these trips. Can't say I look forward to that as it pretty much means I'm out of shape in the first place.
    Alaska Outdoors Television ~ Outdoor Channel

I take snickers, they suck less than cliff bars. Day 6 I would rather eat tundra moss soaked in fish guts than another $&@?#% cliff bar!!!