Thread: split necks

Default split necks

a friend of mine gave me 100 once fired nickel plated 300 win. short mag. cases. his gun was a win. model 70 I shoot a browning xbolt don't know if that matters or not. after two loadings the necks are starting to split. 50 out of 100 are split. never had this problem with brass cases. i'm not close to a max load. any ideas?

get out your butane torch and anneal the case necks before you reload... firing (and reloading) has hardened the brass through working (stretching) and heating. Heat them up good and allow to air cool slowly, concentrate on the neck portion only. This should return your brass to a more malleable state. My $.02

I am not an expert, I have only done some research into annealing case necks...but from what I have read, if you want to diy annealling, I would recommend you put the cases neck up in a pan of water so the water is below the shoulder and heat the necks that way. Then when they get "hot enough" (I'm not recommending a temperature, but I hear "just red enough to see the glow in a dim room") then tip them over into the water. The water acts as a heat sink to keep from over heating the necks which is bad as well.

All that said, I would dump the nickel brass and get some real brass brass...JMO..

Annealing is supposed to be precision work. They make some indicating products that melt when they get enough.

With that said I would be pitching that batch of shells.

Actually, I mispoke and it's too late to edit my post. What I meant to say was that the water acts as a heat sink to keep from heating the cases below the necks. In other words, you dont want to change the properties of the case wall and base area.....