Thread: 185 performance mods

Default 185 performance mods

Have a new to me 1973 cessna 185. Aircraft came with flint tanks. Interested in the following mods. 1) sportsman leading edge. Is this a great mod and what can I expect from it? Does it slow down cruise? Do u have to fly at high AOA to use lower approach speeds? 2) VG's. What do others think of them. Had them on a super cub for 2500 hrs and liked them. Was able to fly at a lower AOA with weight and or less power. Also made the plane more stable. 3) MT 2 or 3 blade prop. Plane has standard old 2 blade Mac now. With the cub saw good performance gain from 74-52 to 82-42 prop. Also good performance gain from 150p to 160hp. Planning on float operation summer and skis in winter. Thanks for any insight,
    words of wisdom and help.

Just 55 miles north of ANC ... on the lake

Let me start off by saying I am not an expert...I have only owned my own plane (77 180K, same airframe as 185 with smaller motor) for almost 3 years...As funds have become available have made a lot of mods...Of the things I did i think the Micro vortex generators have been the biggest bang for the dollar...My airplane has horton stol kit, p ponk gear, 29 inch bush wheels, bubble windows, gross weight increase, and a few others for performance...Power off stall is about 40kias, and power on does not indicate anything before a mild break...

I can't help you with the prop...I have the standard Mac also and when I go to floats will upgrade the oil cooler and the prop to an 88...I don't have anything but second hand info on the MT prop, have heard both sides of the argument...Best of luck on the new ride...