Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Ruger question

Default Ruger question

I have a 4" Blackhawk in 44 mag that I can't get to shoot 300gr or bigger rounds with any consistency. If I drop down to a 240gr load I can group under an inch at 20 yards fine. I was hoping to get the same out of a heavier round. I'm relatively new to hand-gunning so idk if its just me or not. Am I expecting to much out of a factory loaded "buffalo bore" round. All so they seem to drop down and fly left if that helps. Best groups are around 5" or so.

Reaming the cylinder throats seem to increase accuracy most on the heavy bullets.
    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

Good to know where do I have that done?

There's a guy online called cylindersmith, or Brownells sells the reamer for DIY. It's pretty easy.
    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

On my revolvers I pick one cylinder and remove all oil then put a dot of red fingernail polish near the rim on the cylinder. Then test loads in only that one cylinder. Shoot five from one cylinder.

I will look into the DIY. Thanks

What are u looking for with your testing?

I'm guessing the BB leaves the bore faster making it shoot low.Also guessing you are using two hands annd pulling extra with your left hand to counter the known extra recoil. To check my guess at random load two hot rounds two of the lighter rounds and two empty chambers and feel what happens.
    Now left only to be a turd in the forrest and the circle will be complete.Use me as I have used you

Good call I have a few 44sp rounds I will toss in and test my self.

Barrel is too short to reach the velocity needed for the big boolit stability. Get over it, you are out of twist range. You can't burn enough slow powder. Notice how little twist is in the barrel when you look down it. Shorter will have almost no twist at all but some say it is the same twist, get off my back! It will be almost a straight groove in a short barrel. RPM's come from velocity and time in the barrel to spin up.