Thread: New here...

Default New here...

Hey all, I'm new to duck hunting and have read some of the recent forums on here with the advice to new hunters. I still have two questions though. One would be what is a good call for a beginner to learn on and the second is when you're scouting a new area for the up coming season what type of stuff do you look for that would make it a good spot? Thanks for the advice in advance.

Quote Originally Posted by wvfb163 View Post
    Hey all, I'm new to duck hunting and have read some of the recent forums on here with the advice to new hunters. I still have two questions though. One would be what is a good call for a beginner to learn on and the second is when you're scouting a new area for the up coming season what type of stuff do you look for that would make it a good spot? Thanks for the advice in advance.

Question number 1: Start with a low cost double reed call from a known call maker. You will likely buy a few before you get the one that you like.
    Question number 2: Ducks? Legal access...

Don
    Forgive me for being arrogant. I own 2 Drahthaar's.
    Tundramoor Drahthaar Kennel. Training Versatile Dogs because we hunt it all.
    Memeber of the Alaska Warterfowl Association.

Quote Originally Posted by Duckdon View Post
    Question number 1: Start with a low cost double reed call from a known call maker. You will likely buy a few before you get the one that you like.
    Question number 2: Ducks? Legal access...

Don

Yeah, pretty much any poly call on the shelf you can use to learn the basics and they'll all work to kill ducks. I don't think you need to call as much up here as you do in other parts of the country, though.