Thread: K-bay summer bears

Default K-bay summer bears

I have looked around and can not find any info for bear care in the hot hot Alaska summer. I'm not to worried about the hide as it would rubbed out but the meat is very valuable to me. What are some of the things you guys do to keep the meet temps down when out? These bears are up high and it will take time to get them out and to a butcher.

Are you talking black bears on Kachemak Bay or what? It certainly doesn't get "hot hot" around here in summer; hang your quarters, keep them shaded and dry with a tarp (and a breeze blowing across them if possible), they'll keep fine for several days.
    " Gas boats are bad enough, autos are an invention of the devil, and airplanes are worse." ~Allen Hasselborg

Yes black. Brown close on the 31st. Hot hot was a joke I know all to well the weather in k-bay. I'm not an expert in bear meat treatment and was just looking for care info. Thanks

I guess my concern is I was always told to treat bear like pigs. I never hung my pigs in CA. Just chilled and butchered.

I don't think he means to hang the meat to age it, but rather to hang it if you need to camp on your way out so as to keep it cool with plenty of air circulating around it. Given the normal temps, you should have a few days to get it home if you keep it dry and as cool as possible. If you're up high and there are snow chutes in the area, it wouldn't hurt to bury it in snow for a few hours or overnight to get it chilled, but only do so if you can keep an eye on it so that it doesn't get dug up by another bear or other scavengers.

Never thought of the snow thing thanks.