Thread: What to do this weekend?

Default What to do this weekend?

I'm a pretty dedicated cook inlet fisherman, but wouldn't mind exploring something new.

I'll be fishing out of a kayak so my range is somewhat limited. Although I will have a sail but according to the forecasts winds will be minimal! Figures

I do want to catch fish though.

What's everyone else gonna do?

I am taking the wife over to halibut cove. I have a friend who lets us tie up at his dock over there whenever we want.
    Most likely plan is to hunt for some rockfish and whatever we can find in areas where the tide isn't going to kill us.
    I want to hit some of my good butt spots but those wicked tides are more then I want to mess with.
    I do wonder how long I can fish with my new 25oz jig but -5.7 is just too much to mess with. Might just hit a spot or two during slack tide.
    We might grab a bite at the tidepool in Seldovia if we find ourselves out that way.
    "The closer I get to nature the farther I am from idiots"

"Fishing and Hunting are only an addiction if you're trying to quit"

Dang I didn't even check tides! That current is gonna hit close to 4mph

Matt, how do u know the current speed? Seems like it would be a lot faster than 4. Throw an anchor out in that and your boat makes a heck of a wake.
    Your sarcasm is way, waaaayyyyyyyy more sarcastic than mine!

I have navionics software. There is a couple of bouyies that you can click on that predict current speeds.

Here's a screenshot for Saturday ImageUploadedByTapatalk1369201561.695603.jpg

Seem to be a few Kings being caught along the bluffs down South of Deep Creek.
    2007 Kingfisher 2825 - Stor Fisk

Civilization ends at the waterline. Beyond that, we all enter the food chain, and not always right at the top. -- Hunter S. Thompson

Quote Originally Posted by kasilofchrisn View Post
    I am taking the wife over to halibut cove. I have a friend who lets us tie up at his dock over there whenever we want.