Thread: King Fishing Out of Elfin Cove/Yakobi Island in Late July

Default King Fishing Out of Elfin Cove/Yakobi Island in Late July

My wife and I will be chartering a boat out of Juneau in late July and plan on spending most of our trip in the Elfin Cove area. Wondering where the best bet is for Kings at this time of the year. I know it's late for the main King fishing on the coast; but I've been fishing northern BC for the last 10 years in mid-August and found that while the numbers are lower, the one caught are bigger. I'm used to fishing for these later Kings in shallower water (about 40 feet) and wondering if the same holds true for this area. Any help on the best gear for the area would also be appreciated. I'll plan on having spoons, hootchies and herring all available. Thanks for the help!

Just received a poor report for early Kings from some commercial friends. Hopefully, the run will gain some strength. I like fishing the Elfin Cove area. I would highly recommend spending a few nights in the Surge Bay area so you won't have to make the long run out there. The early morning bite is great by the green buoy South of Surge bay. I use Herring, but the Silvers will take away your supply quickly, so don't be afraid of spoons. Assuming you have downriggers, fish for the Kings deeper. You may have trouble getting a lure through the top layers of Silvers.

Exactly what I was looking for. Thanks a million!

jwl,

Is " best bet" a measure of quality or quantity? My experience is that by July most of the bigger kings have found their way inland, closer to Juneau. The fish still hanging around West of Elfin Cove - Yakobi Rock to Lisianski Strait - are feeder kings that usually run 10# to 20#.