Thread: ATV Kit?

Default ATV Kit?

I just pulled the trigger on a 2013 Yamaha Grizzly 700 today! I want to put together a kit of some sort that I can carry for quick repair, etc. Does anyone have any recommendations on must have items? I am new to riding in AK as well, but I am really excited to learn! Thanks for any input!

Congrats on the new Griz! I've had my Griz since 2002 and it's never let me down and I've put through some paces.

If you haven't already, get rid of the stock tires and get some better ones. Think mud/slop as opposed to sand and rock crawling.
    12v air compressor and a good tire plug kit. Properly inflated tires. Too much air and you risk a puncture.
    A ratchet strap so you can reseat a tire to the rim if you pop a bead. Some guys use lighter fluid.
    Get some dielectric grease and put it in every electrical connection on the quad including the plug.
    A gun is like a parachute. If you need one, and donít have one, youíll probably never need one again

Thumbs up good choice on the Grizz

Ditto all that Snyd said. Add duct tape and zip ties to the kit (goes without saying probably).

Mine is a 2007 I think. Best ATV ever. Watch out if you're in reverse and press the engine override button (grey, on left handlebar, on mine); it is super easy to flip that hardware right over its driver at that moment.

Now think aftermarket niceties: I have a huge backseat and luggage areas (brand or model: Big Wes) which is perfect for riding with a toddler; there is nowhere for them to fly off the bike. Also think GPS holder, hot grips/thumb, winch, and possibly plow. That's how mine is decked out.

Warn winch, tree strap or dead head strap. Green tire slime along with Snyd's recommendations. Small solar battery charger....amount of stuff in the kit depends on how far and deep you are going....

And a stretch type tow rope. In the unlikely event your stating system dies, you can tow start a Yamaha 700.