Thread: Raised bed question

Default Raised bed question

I'm going to put in a raised bed this weekend. My planned dimensions are 16' long, 4' wide and 9" tall. Does that seem ok? As in, is it tall enough to be effective? Also, I'm planning on putting it in my yard, should i remove the sod underneath first? It seems like 9 inches of dirt would effectively kill the grass and make removing it unnecessary.
    I live in anchorage and will be growing zucchini tomatoes, peppers beans onions and cucumbers. Hopefully.. This is my first year attempting it.
    Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Quote Originally Posted by Jibby View Post
    I'm going to put in a raised bed this weekend. My planned dimensions are 16' long, 4' wide and 9" tall. Does that seem ok? As in, is it tall enough to be effective? Also, I'm planning on putting it in my yard, should i remove the sod underneath first? It seems like 9 inches of dirt would effectively kill the grass and make removing it unnecessary.
    I live in anchorage and will be growing zucchini tomatoes, peppers beans onions and cucumbers. Hopefully.. This is my first year attempting it.
    Any advice is greatly appreciated!
    If it were me, I'd remove the sod.
    9" deep should be deep enough to grow any of the common root vegetables
    Good luck with the tomatoes and cucumbers outside. Most (successful) gardeners who grow tomatoes, and cucumbers outside, do so up next to a building on the south side.

Yeah, I'm not super optimistic about the cuc's or tomatoes after all that I've read, but we shall see.
    Just out of curiosity, why would you remove the sod first?

Yeah, I'm not super optimistic about the cuc's or tomatoes after all that I've read, but we shall see.
    Just out of curiosity, why would you remove the sod first?
    to keep it from growing up into the raised bed.