Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hewescraft searunner

Default Hewescraft searunner

Hey guys, as you can see its my first post. I just moved to Alaska from Arizona last July. As you can imagine it wasn't too necessary yo have a boat in Tucson so I have very little experience. Anyway my coworker offered to sell me his 1988 hewescraft searunner with a 35hp motor, trailer, Bimini top, new flooring, extra set of controls and a spare 35hp motor for $3800. I am in Kenai and would like a boat for all the lakes but also be able to occasionally take it in the inlet on nice days. So do you guys think its a good deal? Might it suit my needs?

Any info on the boat is appreciated

Sent from my LG-P509 using Tapatalk 2

What years are the motors? Whats the length of the boat? The price seems a bit steep to me if the motors are half as old as the boat. But maybe its sitting on a brand new trailer. Either that or I'm just a cheap SOB.

If its only a 16' Id hesitate to take it in the inlet until you have more experience handling it and judging the weather. It can get bad fast! But on a great day with a good skipper id do it. But I wouldn't go out to far.
    Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day,
    Teach a man to fish and he'll also learn to drink, lie, and avoid the honey do list.

dem motors 4-strokers?
    Boating regulations on the mainstream Kenai River -- From January 1 - December 31, including Kenai and Skilak lakes, no one may operate a motorized boat on the Kenai River upstream of a DNR marker located (at approximately river mile 4.0) downstream of the Warren Ames bridge unless the motor is a four-stroke motor or a direct fuel injection motor

If the motors are not four strokes, you can't use them on the Kenai.

The motors are both mid '90s and 2 strokers so I know no kenai but I'm OK with that. Its an 18' and I'm not sure of the age of the trailer but its a heavy duty one if that matters lol

Anybody run one of these boats? Interested to hear opinions