Thread: Orvis LA Battenkill V, Fly line Backing

Question Orvis LA Battenkill V, Fly line Backing

What is the overall opinion on the Orvis Battenkill Large Arbor V that was discontinued a couple of years a go? I spotted one being blown out for $140 new at an Orvis dealer.. No spare spool, and I understand that the backing capacity is limited. Worth getting? Pros Cons?

Fly line backing. With the reels I am getting, and the spare spools, I would like to order a bulk roll of backing. Any opinions on who makes some good backing?
    One dealer told me his line, mfd by Angler's connection is waxed. In comparison to Teflon coated by Sci Ang, and Cortland. I am looking for the 30# backing for Kodiak fishing, is that too much?

Default Orvis 2 Cents

Joe,

I have been using Orvis products for 25 years and for the most part tell you that you can not go wrong however the large arbor battenkill is not the best choice or shall I say bang for the buck " Great Warranty" and Orvis will back, but just not up to specs compared to other products on the market.

Your statement of the capacity for backing is true!!!! not to mention the lack of a strong strong drag.

I would look at the New TFO reels, Cabela's " Although" that one makes me cringe, and even the Okuma's same price range better drag more backing capacity. If your looking for more of an acceptable Brand Name name look into the many of the models Ross or Lamson makes however the price range goes up to about $180.00 - $220.

Most fly lines test out to about 30 LBS that being said I would stick to 20 LBS backing and save a buck or two. Concerning manufacture stick with Cortland and check out the pricing at Hook and Hackle located in PA. Ask for Ron you normally get 20% off your first on line order and will be one of the best deals you find. Tell him Mousseau Sent you.

I am sure others will provide additional choices.

Tight Lines and Best wishes

Richard "Moose" Mousseau
    www.bluemooserafting.com

Wink