Thread: Fabricating a deck over trailer

Default Fabricating a deck over trailer

Day 1 of trailer build. Top frame layout and squared up. Trailer is 20' long and 8.5' wide. Will have Tandem 3500 lb axles with brakes on both axles. Takes up most of the space in my small shop. Both the top and bottom frame is 4" c-channel. The stringers are 2" X 2" X 3/16 angle. The tongue is 4" X 3" X 1/4" rectangle tube. Bottom frame will be 72" wide and the axles will be 85" hub face. This will be the second trailer I have built.

Default Progress so far. Ready to flip over.

Default Question about the two layers of structure/support

Seems like a cool idea to have one frame over the basics and a second extending out to the edges; the synergy between the two frames should be strong as heck, shouldn't it? Nice. Or is this a common design? I'm no expert but I've not seen it before.

Please keep the pictures of the progress coming.

Looks good! The 16' I built is a very similar design. One thing I wish I had done was extend the 2x2 tubing the spring shackles rest on. I did the same as you are doing and basically cut them to fit the distance needed for the shackles. Looking back, if I had lengthened them 3-4', it would have really stiffened the frame. Maybe next time...
    AKmud
    http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j96/AKmud/213700RMK1-1.jpg

The porcupine is a peacful animal yet God still thought it necessary to give him quills....

in the state seperated from the lower 48 by Canada

I've seen Muds trailer....very nice.
    Yours looks good Gutleap.
    What do you think you will have into it when completed...assuming you pay yourself?

Quote Originally Posted by FamilyMan View Post
    Seems like a cool idea to have one frame over the basics and a second extending out to the edges; the synergy between the two frames should be strong as heck, shouldn't it? Nice. Or is this a common design? I'm no expert but I've not seen it before.

Please keep the pictures of the progress coming.