Thread: Moly?

Default Moly?

Molybdenum disulfide dry lubricant is what I'm asking about. I have a buddy who had a bunch of rounds moly coated, and claimed his rifle shot better with it. He said it's basically a coat of lube that causes less friction when the bullet is moving through the bore so the bullet shoots straighter and faster. Well, I'm always willing to try new things so I made an impulse purchase today while I was going to various gun shops in search of the fabled H4831. When I got it home I read the can, and it said you can either spray your bullets with it, or you can just spray it straight in the bore. This kinda scares me because I have always been told things left in the bore can cause pressure issues and possibly turn your rifle into a shoulder mounted pipe bomb. Has anybody coated their bore with moly? If so did it make it perform better? Did you have any pressure issues? I'm new to the whole Moly coating thing and won't try it until I learn more about it. Is there truly a benefit to the performance of your bullets by spraying this stuff on them?
    Some people call it sky busting... I call it optimism
    "Swans are a gift" -DucksandDogs
    I am a shoveler's worst nightmare!

Which shop carries it? If your rifle doesn't turn into a pipe bomb I wouldn't mind trying it. Sorry if I couldn't help with any info. I was just wondering where it can be picked up at. Thanks.

I found this on a page dedicated to coating bullets. Interesting-

If coating bullets with dry lubricants can reduce friction/heat, extend cleaning intervals and, possibly, make barrels last longer, then why doesn't everyone shoot coated bullets?