Thread: Wrangell mountains sheep

Default Wrangell mountains sheep

I booked a Dall's sheep hunt with (outfitter name omitted) in August 06. (Omitted) was the outfitter, happenes to be the Director of the (omitted).

Never done a guided hunt before and was going on credentials, my fault. Not a person in the camp had ever been in the area before and my guide had never even seen a Dall's sheep before that summer. What a joke.

But if I was an Alaskan resident I could hunt this area without a "guide". The southeast basins of the Chikosna mountains are within easy access of a die hard hunter and hold some great sheep, lots of moose in the area also. You can backpack from the road.

WyoXtec
    Last edited by Brian M; 05-12-2007 at 23:37. Reason: negative info deleted in accordance with forum rule #7

Wrangell Mountain Air will fly you into this huge area. If you spend the money to fly, go to the airstrip closest to the Lakina Glacier and go up Mill Creek. Die hard sheep hunters will do well.

WyoXtec

Thanks for sharing. Too often individuals are not willing to educate others about locations and techniques. A friend hunted that drainage some years ago and said it was not real difficult as far as terrain goes. Long walk for them, if I remember the tale right. They went up til the creek forked and spike camped there. Hunted to the right and got two good sheep. Good Post

Unhappy

WX: