Thread: Casting for Kings in Juneau

Default Casting for Kings in Juneau

Hey I'm new to the Juneau area and don't have a boat but I want to do some King fishing. I heard False Outer Point is a good spot. Are there any other places I can hook into a King from shore?

The bite has been really dead lately in Juneau. I've only heard a couple reports of fish being landed, and that counts guys on boats. Scoring a King is like winning the lottery right now.

False Outer is your barometer to see if the Kings are in. Everyone and their brother fishes that spot. If you see 10-20 people down there on a weekday, you'll know the Kings have arrived. Word spreads fast.

I've heard of guys catching them at the Shrine before, but never have fished out there myself. As the season rolls along towards May-June you can also catch them from the mouth of Fish Creek or also Auke Bay Lab.

The Dolly's are starting to show up now too. Sure they're not salmon, but at least it's a way for you to get some action on your line. You'll need smaller trout sized lures, flies, and spinners for them. Near the mouth of streams is usually good (Montana, Fish creek, Sheep creek, kowee).

Some suggestions:

Outer Point - hike from the end of N. Douglas hwy to the west. Walk the beach about 1 mile up to "true" Outer Point, or fish off the exposed reef (with land bridge) at low tide.

False Outer Point. Lots of fish get caught, but it's combat fishing at it's best (worst?)

Fish Creek. When the terminal fish show up. Mouth of of the Cr. where it dumps into Friitz Cove (very low tide) or near the N.D. boat lauch, or in the pond after July 4th.

Under the J-D Bridge.

Mayflower Island.

Out Thane south of the end of the road

Pt. Louisa

Tee Harbor

Breadline (Take Breadline Bluff trail)

Auke Bay. Near the NOAA Lab. When the hatchery kings show up.

DIPAC. When the hatchery kings show up.