Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Maule M4 220C - is this a good plane for a new pilot

Default Maule M4 220C - is this a good plane for a new pilot

I am a new pilot with about 130 hours. 100 hours in Cessna 172 and 30 in PA-18 on floats. I am considering a Maule. I'm looking for some words of wisdom from you guys. What do you think of the Maule and the Franklin engines, is this too much airplane for a new pilot? I live on a lake and want to put it on floats. Things to look for before buying this plane... How does the M4 fly compared to a Cub... I'm not sure what to ask, any thoughts?

Quote Originally Posted by AlaskaKodiak View Post
    I am a new pilot with about 130 hours. 100 hours in Cessna 172 and 30 in PA-18 on floats. I am considering a Maule. I'm looking for some words of wisdom from you guys. What do you think of the Maule and the Franklin engines, is this too much airplane for a new pilot? I live on a lake and want to put it on floats. Things to look for before buying this plane... How does the M4 fly compared to a Cub... I'm not sure what to ask, any thoughts?
    NOTHING flies like a Super Cub !!! Others, of course, will disagree. Visibility from a Cub is without compare. Not so with a Maule. Except for its rather small ailerons, nothing handles as nicely as a Cub, either. And it will handle a much heavier load than the placard will allow.

As for your hours and a Maule, you'll do fine, just as long as you learn its shorcomings one step at a time. With its short fuselage, it's sometimes a chore with directional stability in turbulence, but you'll do fine with that. The Maule wing has a great chord, but a lousy winspan. Still, it's a great airplane. It was originally built on a Piper Pacer airframe, a fact that contributes to its relatively poor directinal stability at times. Still, you'd learn to fly it well if you take it one step at a time.