Thread: Looking for a good dog

Default Looking for a good dog

Hello everyone,
    I am fairly sure this is the wrong place to post this, as it has nothing to do with Mushing (for now at least).
    I am new to Fairbanks, just moved up here last summer, and am interested in getting a dog. I am eventually (in the next 10 years) interested in getting into dog mushing, but at the moment don't have the finances or space. I am interested in getting a sled dog type dog such as a Husky or Malamute, I have quite a lot of experience with dog ownership and have owned an Akita in the past, so I am quite sure I can work with this type of dog. I am not set on a pure blood Husky or Malamute, but I really enjoy the look of those breeds. I have looked quite extensively online for something in the Fairbanks area but have not found anything that I can afford. I was interested to know if anyone on this forum would be able to point me in the right direction for finding a dog. I am only interested in finding a puppy, as this dog will be a pet, and I want to build a good relationship with it from early on. If anyone on here knows of someone who is selling Husky/Malamute or Husky/Malamute mix puppies I would appreciate any information you can give me. The most I would be able to pay for such a dog is $500 or less (less would be very nice).
    Thank you all again for your help.

Check out the Second Chance Leauge. Here is a blurb I just clipped from their website.....

"The Second Chance League is a group of Fairbanks mushers focused on finding permanent homes for sled dogs. SCL is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation. We work with dogs exclusively from the municipal animal shelter in Fairbanks, evaluate them, foster them, and train them with our own dog teams. Many of these dogs have excellent bloodlines. Our goal is for the dogs to be successful. We strive to match the right dog to the right owner."