Thread: 45 Super

Default 45 Super

Cannot quite make out the manufacturer of the pistola.
    Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence. Albert Einstein

Better living through chemistry (I'm a chemist)

You can piddle with the puppies, or run with the wolves...

Same here. What make is that fine looking 1911? Also, where did you find the 45 Super Ammo and what pound recoil spring you running? Looks like it is an accurate load.

The 1911 in the picture is a Springfield that I carried until it rusted. I sent it to Jack Huntington for a face lift and a match grade barrel fitted properly for 45 Super. I am running an 18.5 pound spring. The barrel slide lock-up is fitted to stayed locked as long as the pivot link will allow. This allows pressure to drop enough be fore opening allowing only an 18.5 pound spring

Buffalo Bore and Underwood Ammo both load 45 Super Ammo.

Very nice. I googled that ammo and found impressive numbers. 230gr bonded JHP at 1100fps! Your Springfield's facelift turned out nice.

I like the 45 Super and a G21 with KKM barrel (45 ACP) and a Home made 1911 on a Baer frame and slide with 20# spring. The guns performance is as advertised 230 grains at 100 fps from the 5" guns. I have hunted with it over the past decade and find it the right balance of power in the 1911 frame. The old Glock is a strong old beat up gun that shoots very well with KKM barrel fitting a little tighter. It is very close to the big bore revolvers from 4" barrels but not a magnum. Shootable with a lot more punch. The cartridge fits standard ACP chambers and going back to ACP requires only a spring change and sight adjustment. I don't swap back I use these two as dedicated to the super only with fixed sights tuned for the load.