Thread: Trailer mods??

Default Trailer mods??

I am brand new to the RV/Travel Trailer world and this forum has been "winterized" for the last 7 months so I figure its time to dig it out and start thinking about summer! I haven't even pulled my trailer 1" yet but I am sure that I will be working on it and making changes in short order. Are there any must have mods or tricks?

Stabilizer bars & mirrors. Not much different than most trailers. Make sure everything that can fall or break is put away. Secured Even things like blinds that can run back & forth

Secure the paper towel roll on the paper towel holder. You will find the entire roll unrolled on the floor after each drive.
    Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming-----WOW-----what a ride!
    Unknown author

Not really a Mod, but be sure to pack your heel bearings each year, and check your lift springs a couple times a year to make sure they are not damaged on our Alaskan roads. Check for odd tire ear too, and upgrade your tires if they are factory and cheap. IMHO, most trailer mattresses are crap as well, and worth replacing. Think about upgrading the trailer batteries if you are going out on trips where you will be using them. If your rig doesn't have a generator, getting a portable is a must for me as well.
    "...and then Jack chopped down the beanstock, adding murder and ecological vandalism to the theft, enticement and vandalism charges already mentioned, but he got away with it and lived happily ever after without so much as a guilty twinge about what he had done. Which proves that you can be excused just about anything if you're a hero, because no one asks the inconvenient questions." Terry Pratchett's The Hogfather