Thread: Raft Decision

Default Raft Decision

Looking to purchase a raft that will accomodate 2 people on 7-10 trips in western and Brooks Range rivers. It would be used mostly for fishing, with an occasional hunting trip. Non- commercial. It must roll up easily for fly-in trips. Budget not a problem, but weight is. Here is my theory, please weigh in.

NRS Otter 140 - lightweight, rolls up easily, storage no problem, Will it hold up to rocky, shallow rivers?

Aire 143D - great 10 yr warranty, too heavy at 143 lbs.

Sotar ST14 - lightweight, very durable, rolls up poorly, inflated storage a problem. Just how difficult is it to roll these up for fly-in trips?
    Can it be stored, rolled up, in a garage?

NRS Otters are in many raft rental fleets and have proven over the years that they can stand up to lots of abuse. I own an otter myself. I have no experience with your other two options, but the otter raft is up to the task.

Could you list the specific features you are looking for? All three boats listed are self bailers, so that's a start. But what kind of loads do you plan to carry? I would not generally recommend these boats for two hunters, two moose and a caribou tossed in, for example.

Have you considered the NRS standard-floor boats? How about their 142 bailer? A little wider and less than ten pounds heavier. More lift.

Sounds like you have ruled out the plastic boats because of the stiffness of the material (harder to roll than rubber). But you can certainly get them into an airplane. And SOTAR will build you anything you want. Most other companies can't / won't do that. Their urethane material is the toughest on the market.

-Mike
    LOST CREEK COMPANY: Specializing in Alaska hunt consultation and planning for do-it-yourself hunts, fully outfitted hunts, and guided hunts.
    CLICK HERE to send me a private message.
    Web Address: http://alaskaoutdoorssupersite.com/hunt-planner/
    Mob: 1 (907) 229-4501