Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mixing Brass for Hunting Loads

Default Mixing Brass for Hunting Loads

I am reloading for my 300 Win Mag for hunting, My question is, Is it okay to mix the brands of brass, Does it make a difference, for hunting loads? I have a mix of brand new and once fired of Remington Brass, Winchester, and Federal. With that said, which would you rate as the better brand of brass out of the 3? I've always loaded and stuck with one particular brand with reloading to be consistent while sighting in. However, with only limited supply of certain items available I'm just wondering if its a significant difference. Been reloading for 3 years now and I'm still learning, just want to get advice from you experts.....Thanks

I have mixed brass for hunting loads for the same reason you are considering it and have not seen any difference in performance at the range or on game. just my two cents but I wasn't shooting 1000 yard benchrest compatition.

For hunting, I wouldn't worry much. Some people are picky about brand of brass. With Rem, Win, or Fed I use whatever I have the most. If you want to trade one brand for another, I could probably help you out as I have a fair bunch of 300WM brass.

I am no expert but I work up loads with a particular brand of brass. I suspect that it matters less on some cartridges than others but if you are loading hot then it will make a difference. For book loads I would pick one and set it up in different brands of brass and see if they all shoot the same.

Fairbanks most the time, Ancorage some of the time,& on the road Kicking Anti's all the time

All of mine are mixed.. and have similar accuracy with all of it.. as long as my hunting loads run in max. 1" groups.. i am happy.. most are mid range powder scales..
    "If you are on a continuous search to be offended, you will always find what you are looking for; even when it isn't there."

meet on face book here