Thread: Working with Kevlar repairs/paint/etc.

Default Working with Kevlar repairs/paint/etc.

So this thread is a spin-off from an earlier one in the canoe forum. I have all but decided to buy a Kevlar canoe, but, before I do, I wondered if anyone has any experience working with kevlar as a hull material. I have a lot of fiberglass repair experience, and I wonder if fiberglass cloth and resin can be used to repair a punctured kevlar hull-especially in the field. Has anyone ever used fiberglass to repair kevlar in the same manner they would repair fiberglass? Is there some sort of "easy" (1 or 2 part resin and structural, i.e. roven, cloth) method of repairing kevlar? If you do it in your garage, (as opposed to on the river bank) does it come out half way decent?

The other question is painting and prepping for paint with kevlar. I already know that I need to paint the entire canoe I'm going to buy, so I'm wondeing if I can just sand the hull with 320 grit and spray on Dupont Imron and will that work, or is there a better paint for kevlar? I'm also going to a tougher paint for the bottom than for the inside.

Any ideas or comments?

Call rpm composites,508-296-7313.brewster,ma. They work with carbon fiber,kevlar.

do a search at http://www.thehulltruth.com/index.php
    you may find the info you need.