Thread: Teach me to jig

Default Teach me to jig

I plan to really give jigging a fair shake this summer for salmon. I picked up some buzzbombs, wilson darts, shimano butterflies, and crippled herring.

So I go out practicing. I drop the jigs just below the surface so I can still visually see the action of the lures. I noticed that if I DON'T toss the jig with some upward momentum, it won't flutter out horizontally with consistency. This fluttering action makes the jig behave like a wounded fish. Amazing to see a hunk of lead come to life. I can see why salmon go for it. Solution is simple, toss the jig up, right?

Well here's the problem, either I'm a newbie, or a clutz, but I was constantly twisting my line around the rod tip. I tried an up and down motion, a circular motion, faster, slower, I ended up tangling every 4th or 5th try. Practiced about an hour and had a couple hum dinger rod tip tangles.

Any jigging vets have some pointers? I don't want to develop any bad habits that will be hard to unlearn.

Possibly relevant info: Running a Shimano Travela jigging rod with braid line.

You don't need to pop your jig up so high that your line goes slack and tangles on your rod tip, keep slight tension on your line and use slower lifting and dropping strokes so your not tangling your rod tip and you can feel the bite and set the hook. if you want more action for salmon go with casting and reel back or straight drops and reel up while jigging and then drop. if your line stops on the drop before hitting bottom set the hook. Get your jig in the fish zone and they will bite, you don't need to over work it and your arms and shoulders will be happier.