Thread: Avets at Sportsman show

Default Avets at Sportsman show

Mt. View sports is giving 10% off at the show. Must order it though. They said about 2 weeks out. Surprised me and BJ Commercial also. They said they cant match that and didn't know how they were offering it. I picked up a HX 5/2 two speed. Hope I like it. Anyone have any feedback on what I got?

I've been fishing an LX6/3 2 speed for several years, mostly for marlin/tuna. Love it, although I did upgrade the handle to a single paddle power handle and prefer that.

I bought an Avet HX 5/2 last year and I love it. Its a big tough reel. I loaded mine with 80lb braid and it works great!

Quote Originally Posted by kgpcr View Post
    I bought an Avet HX 5/2 last year and I love it. Its a big tough reel. I loaded mine with 80lb braid and it works great!
    Good to hear. I'm usually too cheap to buy the good stuff, so I'm hoping for the best out of it!

Avet dropped their prices just a couple weeks ago. Check Clark bait to see if you are getting a good deal.

Quote Originally Posted by captaindd View Post
    Avet dropped their prices just a couple weeks ago. Check Clark bait to see if you are getting a good deal.
    Do you mean Chark Bait? I am having a hard time finding a store for Clark Bait. The cheapest that I can find it on the internet is the same price that I paid Mt. View Sports, so I think I did OK. Thats why I posted this about their sale price. Thanks for the heads up. I also looked for Clarks Bait after viewing another post from you. Maybe you can send a link. Thanks again.

http://www.charkbait.com/ I miss spelled it. I purchased a couple of the Okuma Lever Drags in March to test against my Avet ML. I also have some Okuma Jiging poles coming they where $99 I live near Fairbanks so going to the sportsman show to get a deal is not worth it for me.

paired my Avet to a Tiger Lite jigging rod and had TONS of fun with 70-90# halibuts. Only a single speed Avet tho - forgot the model number.