Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Starting your seeds

Default Starting your seeds

O.K. there is still over a foot of snow on the ground and I just recieved 30 differant seeds in the mail, all are in the 85%-95%-germ within the last 3 months.

Here is the question, is it worth sticking some of them in a damp paper towel for a couple of weeks, or just plant them in little cups?

Thanks I'm just getting into this.

What type of seeds do you have ?

organic, at least thats what they said.

I'd use the damp paper towel wrapped with plastic wrap and use a couple extra seeds then you'll have space for. Save the remaining seeds. I store mine in a zip-loc in the fridge and they lose about 5-10% germination per year. Lastly, don't mistake leggy growth (the plant searching for light) for vigorous growth...keep light source close and bright (14-16 hours should do with quality tubes).

Growing from seeds is the most rewarding form of gardening and the variety cannot be beat.

I started tomatoes & celery Saturday, (3-23) some sprouting, now under light & by a sunny window.
    I feel I'm a bit late but hoping they grow fast
    Have some cucumbers seeds for the GH to start but mid to late April for them.

Pansies should be started in Feb. I will be buying pansies this year.

Will start my garden plants end of April sometime depending on the weather.

Type of seeds ? I think we meant Species
    You location is key also for when to plant .

Heck I just put a bunch of differant kinds of seeds in one big damp paper towel, lol, a few quart size ziplocks with the ends open, see what happens.

I bought a seed pack off e-bay, enough to plant a big garden, and most of the seeds arnt grown in Alaska.

I just wanted to see if I could make them grow.

I went with the orka,green beens, black beens, red beens,,etc.

I think that you can scratch the Orka from your list.!!!!