Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: DG331 Resurrection Creek, West

Default DG331 Resurrection Creek, West

Hello AOD Members. This year I was very lucky and pulled a goat tag. Even more than that I pulled my number one choice DG331 Resurrection Creek, West (Aug 10 to Oct 15). DG331 for those of you that do not know runs from Hope to Cooper Landing along and west of Resurrection Pass Trail. Last year was the first time the hunt had been opened up since 2005.

Here's the web address to the DG331 hunt adfg map: http://www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm...tfile_id=12460

Much earlier in the year I had made plans to do some scouting around Resurrection Pass Trail in preparation for black bear hunting, if I win ever a DC001 caribou tag, possible sheep, ptarmigan, wolf, and hopefully goat. Well I won the goat tag but have not done the on the ground scouting (though I've planned a few preseason trips).

I have limited mountain climbing experience, none where there isn't a trail, and I would really like some advise on getting up to the goats. I have given Jeff Selinger the area biologist a call already and I may just have to call him again to thank him for the great advise and for giving up an HOUR of his time to help me out.

I will be scouting the mountains around rimrock creek and gold gulch for accessible goats. Though time will be spent around swan lake and between Johnson creek and porcupine creek.

Does anyone have advise for avoiding excessive bushwhacking from Resurrection Pass Trail to the tree line near gold gulch and rimrock creek? This area is near the end of resurrection rd. Is there a trail there that i do not see on the map/satellite photos? Should I pick up some kahtoola micro spikes, would they help? Anything extra help would be greatly appreciated and you guy/gals can expect a write up when I get back.