Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What to do?

Default What to do?

As most of you know, I have been moderating this forum for quite awhile, and I am very pleased with the quality of the advice and experience that has been shared by all of the members who visit here. Some of you are gifted with knowledge and some with experience and some with a combination of both. Needless to say, All of you are valuable to this forum and to each of us in one way or another.

That brings me to my question. I have been flying as a student since July 1, 1991. Money and life have conspired from time to time to prevent me from finishing my pilots license. During all of this time I have accumulated around 85-90 hours in my logbook and several more that are unlogged. I have met all of the requirements time wise to satisfy the FAR's for my license. Last year my job took me out of Alaska and down to Florida ( I am an A&P mechanic by trade). My current employer is a small flight school, and as part of my compensation, I get a discount on flight instruction. Here is my dilemma.

My instructor is a young German woman and when we fly, she is very jumpy, always wanting to grab the controls, and she isn't teaching me anything. All of my maneuvers are acceptable to her, but when I took my check ride with the chief pilot, he said they need more work. I did my ground check with the chief pilot and learned more with him in two hours than I did from her in the last month.