Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to sheep hunting

Default New to sheep hunting

I am new to sheep hunting and am looking for a walk in hunt. I maybe able to do a fly in but not likely. The AK range is my first choice. Does any one have any thoughts? I have about ten days to hunt and am in good sheep shape. I run/ski/bike with my two year old for training three to four days a week. Thanks ahead of time for any and all advice.

My friend, there are about three situations in life where it's better to be a woman than a man. This is one of them.
    Passing up shots on mergansers since 1992.

What kind of thoughts are you looking for, sir? Your plan is certainly a doable one, though you're not likely to find any spots shared openly here. As you likely know, walk-in sheep hunting is a tough gig, and finding productive spots is generally the result of many miles logged and trials endured. Nothing beats time spent in the mountains scouting and learning prospective areas. Since the knowledge of specific areas that some have comes at such a high cost of time and sweat, few are willing to share that information with any but the most close of friends. Competition is a reality on the road system, and while solitude can be found on a walk-in sheep hunt, such areas are the exception rather than the rule.