Thread: Redfield 2X6 handgun scope?

Default Redfield 2X6 handgun scope?

I recently bought a Remington XP100 with a Redfield 2X6 handgun scope on it to hunt coyotes with and shot this for the first time today. Sighted at 25 yards to get onto paper then moved back to 100 yards bench. When I raised the power up to 6 the tube appeared less than 1" in diameter while looking through it, eye relief was more distant also. I've never used a varible power handgun scope before. Is this typical of the breed of scope? Do all varible powered handgun scopes do this? I've always liked Redfields for their clarity and brightness but, never imagined this before.
    Please, what scope would you recommed, and why?
    Steve

I have Leupolds on Both of my scoped handguns and have not had any problems with them. One is a Super Red Hawk in 44 mag, and the other is a TC in 7-30 Waters. One is a straight 2x the other is a 2.5 X 8. I have been shooting both of them for over 15 years with no problems.

Have you tryed resetting the eye relief at 6 power? It should then be good at lower settings.
    Now left only to be a turd in the forrest and the circle will be complete.Use me as I have used you

How do I reset eye relief on this? I bought this rig used without instructions.
    Steve

Just try sliding it back and forth in the mounts till you get the best field of view with you normal hold. The person you got the gun from may have had different arm length and hold making it off for you.
    Now left only to be a turd in the forrest and the circle will be complete.Use me as I have used you

S.B. did you get the scope to work?

Your earlier advice won't work there is not enough room between the back ring and the power setting ring on the scope. Since this is a out of date scope, the only way I can see to fix is with a rear ring that would alow me to move scope ahead by at least an inch? I thought someone with experience with these may chime in?
    Steve