Thread: brand new hootchies and the plastic smell

Default brand new hootchies and the plastic smell

Hello,

I am new to trolling hoochies, but just ordered a bunch. I have an upcoming trip to Ketch in June. I was wondering if anyone uses any scents on the hootchies, or if the smell of brand new plastic is a problem? Can I take a brand new one and rig it with a couple #5 hooks and fish away or ????

Also, I ordered some army truck glow, white purple haze, and a clear glow with a black splatter. Do these seem like reasonable options behind an 11 inch pro trol chartruse flasher , and or an army truck 11 inch flasher?

How far back to the hootchie? about 30inches?

Any help would be great.

June in Ketchikan so you're king fishing I take it? Smell doesn't seem to be an issue as far as I can tell, I do se some scent sometimes but typically not. I find putting a small teaser strip of herring fillet works good for me and the clients. Hopefully 270ti chims in he is a samon killer in these parts and runs hootchies a bunch. Flasher color seems OK, I would also add a few other options - purple, green, lots of choices and opinions on this as well. The purple haze works good for me behind a purple flasher.

30inches or less would be good. If you're marking fish and not hooking up, change out as neeed. Have a great time!

Gooch
    Mike
    www.coffmancoveak.com
    Prince of Wales Island

Around Ketchikan every color of hootchies are good as long as they are green. The best hootchies is a cut plug herring with a leader 2 1/2 the flasher length.

Only once have I had a Hootchie that stunk beyond a mild plastic smell and it never caught a thing must have been made from some recycled crap because it stunk like burning garbage-I threw it away.

Standard Hootchie leader length is 42" where I'm from but as always YMMV.

Lots of different color hoochies. Seems like you picked a lot of the colors popular down in WA.