Thread: bear calling

eagle river ak

Default bear calling

hey there i'm new to teh forum. It has already been very helpful. ME and a buddy are looking to some weekend blackie hunts out point mackenzie. I knwo from past experience that the bears are out there. had one scare off a cow during moose season last year. We are not doing bait nothing personal to bait hunters just does not interest me. was thinking of trying to call them. i have a predator distress call, a bear call, and was thinkig of trying to imitate a moose calf. any advice or tips on the subject or the area would be greatly helpful. we are looking to start going in the next week or so.

I have called in and killed black bears in both Alaska and Idaho. On both occasions, I used the same rabbit squeeler I use to call in Coyotes in Indiana.

The bear I called in Alaska was near Telaquana Lake. I saw the animal cross an open area 500 yards in front of me, only to disapear into some alders. After putting my gun on some sticks, I let loose on the call. Within a minute, the bear walked back out of the cover and headed toward me. Problem was, another black bear appeared from the opposite side of the clearing at the same time. As I decided which one to shoot, my partner smacked me on the head. She was watching our rear and immediately spotted a brown bear and two cubs headed our way as well. I shot the bigger of the two black bears, and the other ran. The brownies stopped to survey the situation. They didn't leave, however, until we made a bunch of commotion.

The lesson I learned, was to be careful when calling in AK. When Brown bears are in the area, be prepared to deal with more than one bear under the right circumstances.

Don Mulligan

Talking bear calling