Thread: 350gr Barnes in 375 H&H?

Default 350gr Barnes in 375 H&H?

has anyone played around with the 350 gr barnes x-bullets in their 375 H&H? I picked some up the other week and was going to see what i could do with them when i get back home this weekend. i have found minimal load data for that bullet, but it appears on the online barnes load data center IMR4320 or RL 15 produce some fairly decent numbers for the case/bullet combo. makes me wonder if something like a H4350 could be a good one to try out too.

Look at data for the Woodleigh 350 grain and check out an old Hodgdon manual for 350 grain data.
    Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence. Albert Einstein

Better living through chemistry (I'm a chemist)

You can piddle with the puppies, or run with the wolves...

Thats a really long bullet. I would think you would have to experiement a lot with the chrono to get acceptable velocity as the bullet needs to be seated deep into the case, limiting the amount of powder. My gut tell me that H4350 might be to slow. Not sure how it would stabilize but shoot some and report back, could be interesting.

Quote Originally Posted by Snowwolfe View Post
    Not sure how it would stabilize but shoot some and report back, could be interesting.
    I'm guessing it will stabilize just fine. Most .375's out there are twisted at 1:12. Running a few calculations with the Greenhill formula shows most bullets in .375 will do fine at 1:16.

The TSX is long for weight, (1.691") but the faster than needed 1:12 should be fine. Calculations show about 1:14 is fast ennough for the 350gr TSX.

I haven't tried them yet but I thought they'd make a fantastic tree stand load! Let us know how they shoot!

Quote Originally Posted by Nitroman View Post