Thread: Loading 10mm

Default Loading 10mm

I'm a rookie reloader and am starting to load some 10mm. A couple of dumb newbie questions...

I have the Lyman reloader handbook, 49th edition. In some of the data for 10mm there is an asterisk that says "designates the use of Norma cases." What exactly does this mean? Does it mean Norma cases are "required" for that specific bullet?

I have about 40 Norma cases and some Double Tap cases and several hundred PMC or FC.

I plan to reload for both range/practice rounds as well as a woods carry ammo. I have found some HSM 180 grain jacketed bullets and Double Tap 230 grain hard cast bullets. Obviously the 180s are for the range and the DT230s for the woods.

Should i load the DT230s in the Norma brass and the 180s in the rest?

I have Universal powder and have not found exact loading data for these bullets, but close. Any recommendations for a powder load?

Thanks in advance!
    English is an odd language. It can understood through tough thorough thought, though.

Well different manufactures give different case volume inside and volume relates to pressure, the less room the more pressure a given charge will make. Itís something you need to know and keep an eye out for but is largely a non-issue in handguns. In rifles it can matter quite a bit and it can matter a little to accuracy in any gun but not a safety thing in handguns like it can be in some rifles. I mix my handgun brass with almost total disregard for brand and by starting low and working up loads that work in them all. If you want to sort your brass by brand you can, not needed in handguns but sure is a good idea in rifles.