Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What did you pay to tan your bear skin?

Default What did you pay to tan your bear skin?

As I have said in previous posts I am new to bear hunting and was curious as to what most of you payed for your bear hide to be tanned or even have a 1/4 mount made up?

i paid 350 for a 6 ft black bear and it took a year but i was happy,.. the hide turned out nice

Cost me 250 for a small five footer. That was just tanning. I know some folks will rib me for shooting a 5 footer but it was a beautiful spring cinnamon bear and I have never shot a color phase so I couldn't resist. Besides, I like to get at least one spring blackie every year for meat. A slow roasted/smoked bb haunch is out of this world eating quality.

$300 for a 6' bear my wife got - just picked it up a week ago.

Quote Originally Posted by Brian M View Post
    $300 for a 6' bear my wife got - just picked it up a week ago.
    How did it turn out? Do you have any photos of the finish product?

Quote Originally Posted by 907pride View Post
    How did it turn out? Do you have any photos of the finish product?
    It turned out excellent, though I don't have any pictures. We're now having the discussion on whether to have it rugged or not. At first she wasn't interested, but now that it's here, it may be too nice to just hang from a hook.

Generally runs from a low of $50 to about $65 a foot in length. Remeber, that does not include fleshing so that is usually extra.

Yeah fleshing and salting, turning ears eyes mouth lips nose tail and taking out paws will cost around $350+ for an average bear. Do it yourself if you are confident in your abilities, lot of tips and advice on here for it. I worked in a taxidermy shop for 3 years. If you can do it yourself, you'll save big bucks.

Release Lake Trout