Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Filet knife preferance, or maybe where to find some skill.

Default Filet knife preferance, or maybe where to find some skill.

So i am not good at fileting salmon. I gave it my best and could not produce good results after many attempts. I thought it was my skill at first so i watched videos and read online. But then i still couldn't get it so i tried a more flexible knife but it still wasn't very flexible. So any info would be awesome. I gave up and ended up with like 20 hacked up filets and 25 million steaks.

Should i try a different knife. Should i just tough it out and i will get better. Any nice videos you all know about to show technique better than a redneck on youtube.
    Trying to play enough to make working for the money all worth it.

Quote Originally Posted by Kmagers View Post
    So i am not good at fileting salmon. I gave it my best and could not produce good results after many attempts. I thought it was my skill at first so i watched videos and read online. But then i still couldn't get it so i tried a more flexible knife but it still wasn't very flexible. So any info would be awesome. I gave up and ended up with like 20 hacked up filets and 25 million steaks.

Should i try a different knife. Should i just tough it out and i will get better. Any nice videos you all know about to show technique better than a redneck on youtube.
    Lots of info on this topic in both salt and freshwater forums...

Filleting fish is like skinning cats, lots of ways to get it done. With that in mind anyone who responds will have the one or two ways that works best for them. How did they find out that it worked best for them? Toughed it out like you said. My first year at Chitna dip-netting had me looking for the trailer on O'Brian Creek to fillet my fish for me. Glad I didn't give up because now I produce some decent fillets.