Thread: Winter Shore Casting for Cod, Flounder, Halibut

Default Winter Shore Casting for Cod, Flounder, Halibut

Been wanting to do some saltwater fishing from the shore. I have heard many different opinions on if the fish move to deeper water in the winter or if some stay in the shallows. I am new to Alaska so I have no clue. Any pointers on where to fish? I have heard Seward, Homer, Whittier, but don't know where abouts to cast from shore. I am intrested in catching anything from the saltwater, just for something to do. We fished the Homer Spit a couple summers ago and ended up with some sole, cod, and pollock. The pollock were very wormy so let them back.

Also, have heard that there is a fish plant in Homer that dumps fish parts in the spit, is it true? I know I have seen lots of birds around those tripod metal stands in the water at Land's End. Was thinking, if they are there should be lots of fish where the parts are coming from, right?

Last, when do the Halibut come to the shallows in spring and for what reason? I've heard that they spawn in the shallows, but I've heard that they come to feed on prey also. Any info is apriciated.

Thanks for your time.
    Eatsleepfish

Might be able to get down to Homer this weekend to chuck out some herring, depending on the weather and if my schedule works out. Guess you don't know 'till you try! I'll report back if I caught anything.

Saltwater shore fishing in Alaska is one of the least explored fisheries. Not to say that the shore fishing is necessarily great, but so few people go out and shore fishing that it's tough to say how good or bad the shore fishing is.

So my recomendation is look at charts along the shore of Cook inlet, use the search feature in this forum as there have been some discussions of shore fishing, and go out and see what you can catch.