Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Planning first trip to Alaska, how much meat can I take home?

Default Planning first trip to Alaska, how much meat can I take home?

Here is the background of the trip. This will be my first trip to fish Alaska. I am researching Homer, Seldovia, and Seward. The other current post on help fishing Alaska has been really helpful. My main goal is to put meat in the freezer. I want to target halibut, salmon, and cod or rock fish. I will be flying a commercial airlines up to AK and I plan on fishing 3 days. I have contacted 3 different fishing charters as part of my research and have been given 3 different answers. I was told 25 lbs, 50 lbs, and 75 lbs. There is a big difference between the 3.

I have a lot of experience in deep sea fishing down in southern California and Mexico, but never up in Alaska. Besides the fishing, I would like to get in some hiking and experience what else Alaska has to offer. I am slowly getting my family off of store bought meat products. I am building up my hunting experience to supply alternates to beef.

Thank you guys in advance for the responses.

This is a question for the airlines, not the charters. You can take home as much as you catch under your legal limits, but you'll potentially have extra baggage fees. I'm fairly certain that all airlines cap box weight at 50lbs for their standard per-bag fee.

Most airlines will let you pack a heavier bag - up to 100 pounds, but you will pay dearly for doing that. You are best off using coolers or fish boxes that come in at 48 pounds. Pay for the extra bag(s) but keep them under 50 and it will be cheaper for you.

Is your hiking days separate from the 3 days fishing?

If you get too many bags, the airlines MIGHT not let you fly it all with you as checked baggage - especially in summer when the planes are full up.