I have been trying to get an answer to a question about limits on black bears.. I have not called ADFG yet as I am on the slope working nights. Anyway here goes, I plan on hunting black bears in PWS this spring and I know the limit is one bear in that game unit per season. I was thinking it might be nice to do some more black bear hunting close to home and I could hunt in an areaa that is a three bear per yer limit. My question is this, if I kill a bear in the 3 bear limit area am I allowed to go kill one in PWS or not.
I have got multiple answers from multiple people that are experienced hunters. One told me as long as I killed the bear in PWS first I could kill two more in the other area, one told me if I killed one in PWS then I was done bear hunting as I had met my limit in one game unit and yet another told me to as long as I don't kill more than the limit in the given game area I am okay.
I think the rule is that If I kill one outside of PWS then I have met the limit for PWS and cannot hunt bears there any longer. However if I just hunt in the 3 bear a year area then I can kill three.
This is all probably theroetical anyway as I would guess my chances of killing one bear this year are slim.. anyway what do you say?