Thread: shrimp opener and fishing ?

Default shrimp opener and fishing ?

Well since shrimp opener just keeps getting closer and closer I have started to wander if it would be worth trying to catch fish. I am new to the boating scene as last year was my first year boating, didnt get to do much since i had motor issues. Was wondering if water temp affects the bite any?

I've yet to make the shrimp opener (hoping to this year) but have fished early May which isn't that far past the opener.

The problem I had on that trip is I could not keep lingcod off my hook, caught six that day and they were all nice large lings, and they seemed to be not just on the rock piles but on the flats when I was after halibut.

Probably too early for good halibut fishing, but rock fishing should be good and expect to have to through back lingcod.
    Those that are successful in Alaska are those who are flexible, and allow the reality of life in Alaska to shape their dreams, vs. trying to force their dreams on the reality of Alaska.

If you have a tenuous grasp of reality, Alaska is not for you.

Normally in April we don't venture far from our pots but the only occasion that we did the Halibut fishing was good near the western entrance of PWS. In May we usually do our first dedicated Halibut trip in the sound and always limit...often times with at least one large fish. Fishing Lone Island and beyond is where I feel fishing starts to get good. If you are just interested in a few Rockfish they can be had about anywhere.

Heavy Hitter Fishing
    https://www.facebook.com/pages/Heavy...54441957966186

Kodiak Custom Fishing Tackle Pro-Staff