Thread: Campbell Airstrip Trails Today

Talking Campbell Airstrip Trails Today

Finally some (semi) dry trails to play on! I was getting tired of the pavement and thought I had a couple more weeks to go if I was going to avoid rutting out the local trails, but a friend pointed me towards the Campbell Tract after he rode it this weekend. There were a few wet spots, but if you stick on the graveled trails the conditions are awesome! Nobody out there, either. I think I passed one other bike and three walkers in an hour and a half of riding. What an awesome trail system that is, too. I'm just learning it, but the possibilities are endless out there. Easy to get turned around, but man...what a great system. There is some great single-track as well, but that is still very soft, so I recommend sticking to the wider, dryer trails for the time being. Get out there and enjoy!

Brian,

What access did you use to the trails? I'm familiar with the trails around the bragaw extension, the BLM lot, as well as the N&S Bivoac trailheads.

I parked at the Campbell Airstrip parking lot right off of Campbell Airstrip Road. I was out there again today - such a fun trail system!

Default Tour of Anchorage Trail

Brian,
    I am assuming you parked at mile 1.1 in the parking lot off of the corner and by the bridge. If this is the case, is the Tour trail up to Service rideable? Rideable without leaving too many deep ruts that is...

Thank you in advance for your reply.

-Chris

Mostly. I took a wrong turn (I'm still learning those trails) and eventually ended up over by service. I had to walk my bike around a few mudholes so that I didn't rut up the trails, but for the most part those trails are looking good. If it stays nice for a few more days, I imagine that they'll be in good shape by next week sometime. I think I'm going again on Monday, so I'll let you know.