Thread: good little jet boat for the Big or Little Su?

Fish Hook

Default good little jet boat for the Big or Little Su?

I am kinda new to power boating and am looking for a nice small jet boat to use with the wife or kids on the rivers in the Valley. Maybe like a 18 ft lowe or something similar and plan on spending around 5-6 grand. One with a small canopy would keep the misses happy. Any advise as what to look for as far as size or width or motor size or make. Or what to steer clear of a a newbie? Also where are some nice places to boat to and maybe spend the night camping. Never been on either of the Su's but they are close and it seems they are accessible. Would like to just have a boat to do a little exploring and fishing and hunting with without spending too much just starting out. Any advise is appreciated.

Welcome to the club.
    Things to look for in a jet boat:

Types of Jet Boats:
    John boat
    Windshield models outboard
    Windshield models inboard
    Sport john
    Big Inboards

John Boat:
    Function as a flat bottom, shallow water, no frills boat. Do not take as much motor to get them on step. Can haul a heavy load. Not very comfortable, and not much of a way to get out of the weather. They are riveted or all welded. Riveted boats are cheaper, but tend to start leaking at bit after a while and are not as durable. They are light weight and are easier to drag off a sand bar when you stick it.

Windshield jet boats:
    Lots of variables from flat bottom, 9 degree dead rise up to 14 degrees. The more deadrise or V in the hull the more comfortable the ride, but the less shallow it will go and more power to get it on step. Some windshields are thin metal (like on some old Almar boats) and some are thick aluminum. They are more expensive. Outboards give you more room inside the boat, and inboards give you more performance and load hauling.

Sport john type boats: