Thread: Best Boat for Kenai (lower) River and Saltwater Fishing???

Default Best Boat for Kenai (lower) River and Saltwater Fishing???

I'm wondering if you guys in the know might be able to make some suggestions as to a good multi-purpose rig. We do most of our fishing on the lower/middle Kenai (max 50 HP.) but would like a boat that is capable of getting safely out onto the salt water out of Homer and Seward to fish for silvers/kings/halibut/rockfish as well. Owning a dedicated saltwater boat just isn't in the cards right now.

So, (keeping in mind the 50 hp max restriction) if you could choose any boat for this purpose what would it be?

I am not a boat expert by any means, but I pondered the same issue a couple years ago and was intrigued by the Hewescraft Sportsman. It seemed like a decent compromise boat - enough V for the salt, but not so much that I would be hating life around sandbars.

First off there is no perfect boat that will excell in the river and the saltwater. You will be compromising on one or the other to some extent.
    That being said my dad has a 20' Lund Alaskan that is a good compromise. He did have a custom canvas bow cover made at Nomar in Homer to keep water out of the bow should the need arise in rough weather.
    Be careful and pick your days on the saltwater carefully. Do not take chances and know the limits of your boats and your own boating skills.
    "The closer I get to nature the farther I am from idiots"

"Fishing and Hunting are only an addiction if you're trying to quit"

I definitely realize that there is no perfect boat for both, I am just looking for suggestions of what you guys would buy if faced with the same situation.

We currently fish out of an Alumaweld Stryker that I believe is about 17.5 feet long. It seems like a reasonable compromise but seems like it could be a few feet longer and a little higher sided and still run well with the 50 hp. motor.

Quote Originally Posted by Brian M View Post