Thread: Any Kenai Baiters Hit Yet?

Default Any Kenai Baiters Hit Yet?

Not me! This is my first year to bait. Doing it with a partner who hunted the refuge last year with success. Bait has been out 6 days is all, but guess I was hoping for some activity by now. Just curious how others in the Kenai are fairing so far.

Did see a dandy blackie on Saturday evening camping down ont he Kenai in Cooper Landing. We had floated by the same area earlier in the day and then was walking along the river gathering drift wood when we saw him across the river. Another person had seen him around the same time and stopped in for a peak as well. Decent looking size and beautiful coat. Only bear we saw all weekend. He was eating the grass along the river. Was kicking myself a bit for leaving my rifle back at the house when I dropped the boat off--but at the same time not sure of the regs on that section of the river--let along shooting across the river. Oh well--got me excited none the less.

Will

all 4 stations i have checked have been hit hard.. I have 2, my dad and his, and his friend has one that has also been torn up pretty hard.

Wink

Quote Originally Posted by wildwill View Post
    ...Did see a dandy blackie on Saturday evening camping down ont he Kenai in Cooper Landing...we saw him across the river...Was kicking myself a bit for leaving my rifle back at the house ...not sure of the regs on that section of the river...
    Along that section of the river I think bait is not allowed, just lures with single hooks with less than 1/2" spread. Anything you catch that is less than 50 inches in length must be returned to the water. They may not be removed from the water for photos. Hahahahasplash LMBOWF (Laugh my butt off while fishing)

Default Saw him again last night----