Thread: DS203 Delta sheep early season question

Default DS203 Delta sheep early season question

I'm trying to decide on walk in vs. fly in to Charlie Boyd for this hunt. I've been applying for a Delta or Tok tag for nearly 10 years, so I want to make the best of this hunt. I'm considering taking the bow, but I'm leaning towards a rifle for my first sheep hunt. I've called 40 mile first thing Friday morning and put my name down for August 9th to fly out, but I haven't gotten a confirmation call back yet, so my options are still open. Are there benefits to flying out vs. hiking in for this hunt?

Jerod,

I was drawn for DS203 last year and had the same question. I spoke at length with Dave (last name escapes me), a wildlife technician in the Delta F&G office that used to guide the DCUA. Asked if he could pick one, what would he choose, and he said fly in to CB since he knew where mineral licks are, etc. I ultimately chose walking in from the north and was successful. One benefit of walking in might be that there are just more options on places to go. Either one you choose, I'm a firm believer that you make your own "benefits" by just being willing to walk further than anyone else that might have walked in or flown in to your place of choosing. You could probably also check F&G success rates for those that fly in versus walk.

Dan

I had a similar decision to make... I walked in and found legal sheep but was unsuccessful when the clouds set in. Doing it over, I would likely hook a ride to Charlie Boyd for something different.

I've had friends who have done both and were successful- not sure there is really a wrong answer.

One thing to remember with the DCUA is the weather can be a real PITA- I know when the weather turned unhuntable with no end in sight I was happy to be able to walk out rather than sit there for days waiting on a charter.
    "I do not deal in hypotheticals. The world, as it is, is vexing enough..." Col. Stonehill, True Grit