Thread: Drew DS204 DCUA Motorized Sheep Hunt - Now What?

Default Drew DS204 DCUA Motorized Sheep Hunt - Now What?

I was fortunate enough to draw DS204 Motorized DCUA Sheep and since I got my results yesterday morning, I have spent the last 29 hours (about 4.5 hours sleeping the rest tossing and turning) researching DCUA on this website, ADF&G's site, the internet, and I tried calling Becky @ ADFG in Glennallen and Tom State Sheep Biologist in Anchorage to no avail. I was wondering if anyone here has personal experience with a fly-in hunt in DCUA or could make a general recommendation of an airstrip or general location. From what I have put together so far, I am liking the sounds of the Gerstle Glacier or Spur Creek areas but I am completely open to any area, as I have no personal knowledge of either area.

I know that it is a good problem to have and that I am fortunate to get to hunt this area so I want to make the most of the opportunity. I am in good shape and do not mind working to make my hunt a success. I called 40 Mile Air at 8 am on Friday but, Lief and Jake are not returning calls (at least not to me until Monday) and I hope to book something early on Monday morning. I would truly appreciate and any general thoughts or experiences you would be willing to share about the DCUA. Thanks Greg

I will probobly beat you into the Gerstle, so better look to Spur creek. JK but my brother will be flying me in to the gerstle area.

Quote Originally Posted by HWK View Post
    I will probobly beat you into the Gerstle, so better look to Spur creek. JK but my brother will be flying me in to the gerstle area.
    Best of luck to you!

I have had quite a few phone calls from the jealous friends and relitives but they are giving me some good advice. Like everyone who gets this permit I want to make the very best of it.

Do you have an ATV? Lots more options, your not stuck in one area.