Thread: Salmon-Quality Table Fare

Default Salmon-Quality Table Fare

As a newbie, I have plenty of questions regarding river run salmon and the bare minimum equipment necessary to provide protein for the soul. I have a collection of spinners and spoons (size 1 to 5) and will be getting an 8-9’ spinning rod/reel setup. Probably 12# mono unless convinced otherwise. Not targeting Kings but I won’t throw them back if regulations and gear allow landing it.

However the most important questions are: bright salmon are table fare and how much color change occurs before the taste degrades?? Is there an approximate rule of thumb for the miles of river/stream that these changes start?? Do changes occur later the farther up stream the salmon spawns and sooner the closer to the ocean??

Your equipment should be just fine to catch all species other then Chinook. For your other question, different species of salmon will start to show color at different times. For example, pink salmon start to show spawning characteristics much faster than others. In addition, some silvers, kings, ect will show colors based upon the river that they will return. As far as taste, this is up to the person eating them. There are quite a few people who will eat them in spawning stages. Some like to smoke them and claim they taste just fine. I think it is up to you to decide which table fare you are willing to eat.

Table fare?

Yes, very subjective and totally depends on what level of degradation your palate is willing to tolerate. It's ALL edible, but not necessarily palatable.

I would suggest looking at scales and slime as the best indicator.

Thin almost imperceptible slime coat and scales that fly like confetti from the landing net means a salmon caught at its palatable prime.

Thick ropey slime and scales that are firmly embedded in the skin (worse yet, fused and absorbing into the skin) pretty much means it's gonna eat like crap.

Try this stepwise test