Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rock Wall Inside the Cabin?

Supporting Member

Default Rock Wall Inside the Cabin?

Has anyone here put up a rock wall inside their cabin. I'm thinking something along the lines of small river rocks set in mortar on the wall behind the wood stove. Just curious if anyone has experience doing it and wouldn't mind sharing what they'd wished they'd known before they started the process, during the process, etc.

This gets done all the time with McMansions, using "Eldorado Stone" or similar....just make sure the wall can support the mass. A rock CLIMBING wall would be way sweet, could practice bouldering moves in the winter....

Supporting Member

I had to google "Eldorado Stone", cdubbin! LOL Yes, a climbing wall might be interesting! But I think I'll be sticking to river rock. :-)

I've done a little rock and tile work, but i'm far from a pro. A couple of random thoughts...

- Make sure the wall you want to cover with rock is sturdy enough to hold the weight. Concrete (probably the best), plywood or OSB should hold a rock covering. Sheetrock won't do the job!

- Cover the plywood with felt/tar paper.

- Cover the area with expanded metal ( a product made exactly for this), or use chicken wire to cover the felt. This give something for the mortar to bite into.

- Gather up a bunch of rock - at least 10% more than you think you need. Make sure they are reasonably clean.

- Slather on some mortar and stick the rocks on the wall. Start on the bottom and work your way up, a foot or two at a time.

- Use a little tool to dress up the mortar joints between the rocks as you go.

Hope this helps - enjoy your project!
    English is an odd language. It can understood through tough thorough thought, though.

Supporting Member

Quote Originally Posted by aces-n-eights View Post
    I've done a little rock and tile work, but i'm far from a pro. A couple of random thoughts...